Find another one
Reviewed 28 December, 2018
This is probably one of the not so good motel/inn I have ever been. I booked this inn a week ago for 2 nights and price was reasonable. When we arrived they were assigning me to a room in the third floor. My companion is disabled and told them to find us a room in the first floor which they did. The room they assigned us in the first floor has a lot of things to improve on but let’s start with the good ones. Water pressure is good and hot when you needed it. Towels are ready. Near gas station fast food and restaurants. The bad part, room is so old and furnitures need to be upgraded. Need more lighting, too dark. TV cable does not have good channels and tv is hard to operate. It has an emanating awful weed smell or probably covering it with so much air-spray. The other one star is the courteous and not so rude staff which I think is being run by an Indian family. Not the type of inn that I would go back again. Sorry.
Reviewed 28 June, 2018
Room hadn’t been vacuumed. No towels. Dust on most surfaces. No toilet paper on the holder. Linoleum floor stained with ... I can’t even guess. Hotel response : housekeeper was in the hospital. 2 1/2 stars? No stars!
Reviewed 11 July, 2017
I read the reviews on The Royal Inn before making a reservation. I am now certain that the glowing reviews had to have been written by a bribed Property Scout from Booking.com, because I found nothing like what had been described by the reviewers.
First issue was with a very prominent sign posted next to the check-in window. No cigarette or marijuana smoking in the rooms or on the property. You are subject to a $250.00 charge on your credit card if you smoke in the room. Immediately upon entering the room it was evident someone had been smoking in there. Mind you, my husband smokes and I tolerate the smell but I didn’t want to get charged $250 for a smell that was already present so went down and reported it. The guy came right up, sniffed around and went and got a can of Febreeze! Sprayed the carpet, bed, towels….ok, good (at least no more liability on me).
This place was filthy, run-down, and noisy because of the 24-hour gas station and racing cars on Hickey Blvd. Our dirty wash cloths were taken but were not replaced. We had to continually fill the toilet tank with water (thank goodness I kept one of the Carl’s Jr. cups) so that it would flush and quit running. No soap, no plastic cup replacements, no ice bucket….oh wait, there was a leather covered ice bucket on the counter but when you turn it over, the insides had been pulled out so it was totally unusable.
Saw bugs on 3 different occasions but didn’t look close enough to determine what they were….just squashed them.
After an evening of walking barefoot on the carpet, the soles of my feet looked like I had walked a mile on a Walmart parking lot!
Stayed at the American Inn on El Camino Real a couple of years ago. It had a better price, but above all, it was clean and quiet. Consider yourself warned about Royal Inn.
Called immediately after we book and cancelled our reservation-REMEMBER ME!
Reviewed 27 May, 2017
What a terrible place. We booked a room online and were within 2 minutes of arrival, guy called with terrible English and said room flooded and canceled our reservation!
We showed up as we were just around the corner. The counter attendant obviously lives there as it smelled horrible.
Refused to show me room, refused to address why he personally cancelled reservation. Remind you he said room flooded...yea right! He kept saying he refused to sell me the room, English was not his first language!
Finally he admitted someone else called and said they would pay MORE MONEY! My reservation is cancelled now get out!
He totally lied, I stopped next door at the next hotel same parking lot, was told this was routine treatment by the previous establishment!
ROYAL INN-save your time and money!
FYI we were in town and U2 was performing, this was nothing but about charging fees for a room! Royal Inn advertised a rate that was false!
We ended up sleeping in our car in South San Fran because no other rooms were available within 75 miles!
Overpriced grubby rooms!
Reviewed 7 October, 2016
We booked the motel for an overnight stay close to San Fran airport. Upon arrival we immediately felt unsafe in the area (not the motels fault) and put our guard up. The reception area had a strong smell and a glass partition, obviously to protect the staff, which was worrying.
Our room was on the second floor, had basic amenities as expected for a motel, which all worked fine. Apart from the lack of hairdryer, so I couldn't wash my hair. The bed was comfy, but the sheets and pillows were dirty and had stains on them. The carpet and curtains also looked like they had seen better days.
The room was noisy too, the front door openly overlooks the road.
It's a motel so I wasn't expecting much, we had stayed in a few others on this trip which were much better value for money, safe and clean. I wouldn't stay here again.